After nearly two and a half years of renovation, Seifersdorf Castle near Radeberg is reopening to visitors. The municipality of Wachau (Bautzen district) celebrated the reopening with a ceremony to which Minister President Michael Kretschmer was also invited. On Sunday, there will be a festive church service and a performance of the opera “Der Freischütz” by Carl Maria von Weber.
The Free State provided 5.7 million euros in funding for the project
The extensive renovation work began in March 2024 and is scheduled to be completed by the end of the year. The 16th-century building now features a visitor center with a tourist information desk, an interactive exhibition area on art, religion, politics, and society in the 18th century, and an interactive library. The roof was also replaced. The Free State funded the project with 5.7 million euros from funds under the Coal Regions Investment Act.
The castle was built between 1530 and 1535 as a Renaissance castle and was converted into one of the first Neo-Gothic castles between 1818 and 1822 according to plans by architect Karl Friedrich Schinkel. From 1747 onward, it belonged to the Saxon Prime Minister Heinrich Graf von Brühl and his descendants until its expropriation in 1945. Since 1994, the municipality of Wachau has been the owner of the castle.